The awards will be judged using a combination of quantitative and qualitative basis using independent performance data from Morningstar, FE and Thomson Reuters Lipper, and analysis by a judging panel of leading fund analysts and researchers.

Boutique and specialist active groups and Passive Asset managers will be invited to nominate themselves for categories and will be required to complete a short questionnaire which will focus on the investing culture of the groups.

They can nominate funds in the individual categories, and these nominations will be considered by the panel, to see if they are appropriate. Funds must have a minimum track record of 1 year by the 30th June 2017, although the judges will greater weight to funds with a minimum of a 3 year track record by 30th June 2017. Funds which make the final shortlists will be subjected to a statistical analysis looking for consistency of returns, before final consideration by the judging panel.

Contact: Lawrence Gosling, Group Editorial Director, Incisive Media


2017 Judges

Chair: Lawrence Gosling, Group Editorial Director, Incisive Media
Ben Willis, Investment Manager/Head of Research, Whitechurch Securities
Clive Hale, Director, Albermarle Street Partners
Dan Kemp, Chief Investment Officer, Morningstar
Haig Bathgate, CIO, Tcam
Hortense Bioy, Director of Passive Fund Research, Europe, Morningstar
Ian Crispo, Investment Director, Deustche
Jake Moeller, Head of UK & Ireland Research, Thomson Reuters Lipper
James de Bunsen, Co-manager of Henderson Alternative Strategies Trust
James Klempster, Portfolio Manager, Momentum Global Investment Management
Jonathan Francis, Senior Fund Analyst, EFG
Justin Onuekwusi, Fund Manager, Legal & General Investment Management
Lothar Mentel, CEO/CIP, Tatton Investment Management
Mark Dampier, Head of Research, Hargreaves Lansdown
Nathan Sweeney, Co-Manager, Architas
Peter Sleep, Portfolio Manager, 7IM